MedTech Europe’s new Board meets under Chair Alex Socarrás

Posted on 01.12.2023

The new Board of MedTech Europe met in Brussels today. From January 2024, the new Board will guide MedTech Europe to make innovative medical technology available to more people, while helping healthcare systems move towards a more sustainable path. Alex Socarrás, Executive Vice President of Global Commercial Operations and Head of Regions Americas and EMEA at Siemens Healthineers is the Chair of the Board. He will chair the Operations Management Committee (OMC) together with:

  • Ghada Farah– Vice-Chair – Terumo, Senior Vice President for Terumo Interventional Systems in EMEA*
  • Stuart Silk – Vice Chair – Stryker, President Europe, Latin America, Canada & EEMEA
  • Gavin Wood – Vice Chair – Johnson & Johnson, Company Group Chairman
  • Sophie Dutilloy – Treasurer – Alcon, President International Vision Care Franchise
  • Daniela Delledonne – BD Life Sciences – Biosciences, Vice President and General Manager, EMEA
  • Samih Al Mawass – Abbott, Divisional Vice President, Abbott Vascular for Europe, Middle East and Africa*

The other Members of the new Board are:

  • Dominique Boulet – Cordis, President EMEA
  • Jean-Philippe Brunet – Werfen, SIDIV, President Werfen France (France – IVD)
  • Bernard Colombo – Roche Diagnostics, Head of Region Europe, Middle East, Africa and Latin America
  • Bill Doherty – Cook Medical, Irish MedTech, Executive Vice President (Ireland – IVD & MD)
  • Arkadiusz Grądkowski – POLMED, Chief Executive Officer (Poland – MD)
  • Peter Huntley – Medicoindustrien, Chief Executive Officer (Denmark – MD)
  • Marc-Pierre Möll – BVMed, Managing Director (Germany – MD)*
  • Miroslav Palat – Czechmed, President (Czech Republic – MD)*
  • Carlos Sisternas Siris – FENIN, Catalonia Director (Spain – IVD)
  • Veronique Tordoff – Philips, Head of Image Guided Therapy*
  • Martin Walger – VDGH, Manager Director (Germany – IVD)
  • Pascal Waucquez – BioMérieux, Head of Europe & Middle East Region*
  • Daniel White – Cepheid, Vice President of Sales CDS, France, Iberia, UK & FAS EMEA*
  • Jose Yebra – Hologic, Senior Director and General Manager for Europe South*

*New Board Member.

MedTech Europe expresses gratitude to Rob ten Hoedt for his leadership as Chair of the Board over the past decade, during which his continued commitment has been instrumental, particularly in navigating the industry through challenging and uncertain times. His invaluable contributions have left a lasting mark on the association’s resilience and success. Gratitude is also extended to the departing Members of the Board for their commitment and hard work in driving the association priorities forward: Meinrad Lugan (B.Braun), Fernando Davico (DiaSorin), Lucile Blaise (ResMed), Pierre Boulud (BioMérieux), and Rika Dutau (Cepheid).

The new Board will serve a three-year term.